Trowbridge 10K – 2017

Congratulations to Simon Nott of Calne Running Club (32:09) and Katrine Svane of Team Bath A.C.  (38:50) who ran out as winners in the inaugural Trowbridge 10K.

Two hundred runners signed up for the inaugural Trowbridge 10K race which started in the town centre and led competitors on a certified accurate if somewhat undulating course around Staverton Marina, Hilperton and Paxcroft Mead before finishing in the town park. Leading from the start was Simon Nott of Calne Running Club who ran the fastest 10K time by a Wiltshire athlete this year in clocking 32-minutes and 9-seconds. In second place was Simon Brace of Team Bath and in third was Robert Farley of Bitton Road Runners. In the ladies race Team Bath took a clean sweep of the podium places with Katrine Svane leading home in 38-minutes and 50-seconds with club mates Fiona Blackmore and Eilidh Bell not far behind.

Age group awards went to Simon Gilbert of Devizes Running Club (MV40); Andy Stanley of Avon Valley Runners (MV50); Ted Sprules of Frome Running Club (MV60); Anita Mellodew of Avon Valley Runners (FV40); Helen Hinsley of Bitton Road Runners (FV50) and Tina Vivian of Avon Valley Runners (FV60).

The Great Chalfield 10K – 2017

Congratulations to Jamie McBrien of Corsham Running Club and Georgia Thomas from Chippenham who ran out as winners in the seventh running of the Great Chalfield 10K at Broughton Gifford.

One hundred and fifty runners lined up in the rain at The Common in Broughton Gifford for the seventh running of the Great Chalfield 10K road race. Organised by Stampede Sports the race took runners over a certified accurate ten kilometre course passing both Holt Manor and Great Chalfield Manor on what has been described as the most picturesque 10K course in Wiltshire. Making light of the undulating course was Jamie McBrien of Corsham Running Club who completed the distance in an impressive thirty four minutes and fourteen seconds ahead of Peter Grist of Wells City Harriers and Joseph Donworth of Frome Running Club. In the ladies race Georgia Thomas from Chippenham took victory ahead of Phillippa Brewer of Avon Valley Runners and Sheralee Rose of Devizes Running Club.

Age group awards went to Simon Gilbert of Devizes Running Club (MV40); Kevin Bryant from Gillingham (MV50); Nicky Finch of Chippenham Harriers (FV40); Gill Perry of Avon Valley Runners (FV50). 

It is hoped that the event will have raised £800 for Broughton Gifford and Holt Scout Group.

The Wiltshire 10 – 2017

Daniel Studley of Bristol & West AC shattered the course record taking victory in 49:34; Ruth Barnes of Avon Valley Runners clocked 56:44 to win the ladies race.

The seventh running of the Wiltshire 10 sponsored by The Wiltshire Times saw five hundred runners line up in Melksham and face a chill headwind for the run section out to Lacock which split the leaders right from the outset. After looping around Reybridge the runners headed back to Melksham with a good tailwind which for those that had been conservative at the outset propelled them to some impressive times. None were more impressive than the performance by 2015 English 10K champion, Daniel Studley running for Bristol & West AC whose finishing time of forty nine minutes and thirty four seconds shattered the course record by nearly three minutes. In the runners up position was last year’s winner, Simon Nott of Calne Running Club whose time of fifty two minutes and thirteen seconds was not only a personal best but also inside the old course record. In third place Rich Ayling of Avon Valley Runners claimed a personal best time of fifty four minutes and one second. With Thomas Davies in 6th place, Mike Dooley in 13th, Guy Landon in 16th and Stephen Rose 27th saw Team Bath AC take their fifth successive Men’s team title at this event.

The ladies race saw Ruth Barnes of Avon Valley Runners continue her run of good form with an emphatic victory recording fifty six minutes and forty four seconds, just a couple of seconds outside of her personal best time but over seven minutes ahead of second placed Sarah Baxter of Team Bath AC and third placed Elizabeth Smith of Bristol’s Westbury Harriers. With Ruth Barnes leading the way Avon Valley Runners took the Ladies team title with Jo Mumford and Diane Hier joining her on the podium.

Other prize winners:
1st MV40 – Anthony Glover of Westbury Harriers; 1st MV50 – Mike Dooley of Team Bath AC; 1st FV40 – Geri Taylor from Swindon; 1st FV50 – Diane Hier of Avon Valley Runners.

All finishers received a specially minted medal featuring the Wiltshire county flag and a copy of the Wiltshire Times.